Hiatus

I apologize for not posting after assuring you all that I would be posting regularly. When I tried to log on and post, I was greeted with a ‘webpage cannot be displayed’ message. This worried me, because it appeared that though I had checked numerous times to make sure I was able to access WordPress from here, it was inaccessible.

I emailed my mom and asked her to check if the site really was blocked or not using a website called ‘The Great Firewall of China,’ which allows you to type in a web address and it checks to see if at that exact moment, the site is accessible throughout a few different areas in China. She did this (thanks, mom!), but according to the site, my blog isn’t blocked. I googled  (using google Hong Kong, of course!) Looking for answers and found that other WordPress bloggers were having a similar issue. They said the reason was something about the login to WordPress not going through, so it infinitely loops until the connection times out and the ‘cannot be displayed’ message appears. They said this can be avoided by using a VPN, which hides your real location and makes it look like you are somewhere else, somewhere WordPress can be logged into without problem.

At family day last week, which ended up being a 3 hour ordeal at a restaurant, one of the relatives, Richard, said he could help me with the VPN as well as Facebook, but I politely declined the latter. As I’m sure you all understand, I posted all my contact info on Facebook pre-departure, as I assumed those who genuinely want to keep in contact with me would utilize that information. Facebook is a time-sucker, and I want to enjoy all my time here, not spending it worrying about what 900 of my ‘closest’ friends are spending their days doing! But I might pop on from time to time. We shall see. Don’t rely on it as a way to get a hold of me though.

So, Richard was able to help, and that is why there is the sudden, constant flow of updates from me! I apologize if it gets annoying, but there is so much to say (I have already been here 10 days!)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

